Mashable:

Twitter/X is disabling Circles, announcing that the feature will be “depreciated” at the end of next month.

As of Oct. 31, Twitter/X users will no longer be able to restrict their posts to their personally curated Circle confidants, nor add new users to that list. Instead, all future Twitter/X posts will be delivered to your followers and the wider public, whether they’re professional announcements about your career achievements or carnal fantasies about your favourite celebrity.

You can still set your whole Twitter/X profile to private if you don’t want random people reading and interacting with your posts. But there will no longer be any method of filtering which of your followers receive which of your posts.

It isn’t clear what will happen to previous Circle posts. Ideally, they will remain restricted to the users they were originally shared with. The nightmare scenario is that they suddenly become public, revealing all your thirsty daydreams and snarky asides for the world and your employer to see.

Mashable has reached out to Twitter/X for clarification.

But if you do have any Twitter/X posts that you don’t want to be public, perhaps consider just deleting them now. Even if the social media giant does promise to keep them private, glitches have happened before. Besides, you might not want to gamble your social and professional reputation on this company’s word.


Source link

MuskWire TLDR:

Twitter/X has announced that it will be disabling its Circles feature at the end of next month. This means that users will no longer be able to restrict their posts to their personally curated Circle confidants or add new users to that list. Instead, all future posts will be delivered to followers and the wider public. Users still have the option to set their whole Twitter/X profile to private if they do not want random people reading and interacting with their posts, but there will no longer be a method of filtering which followers receive which posts. It is unclear what will happen to previous Circle posts, but ideally, they will remain restricted to the users they were originally shared with. Mashable has reached out to Twitter/X for clarification. In the meantime, users who have posts they do not want to be public may consider deleting them. There have been glitches in the past with Twitter/X’s privacy settings, so it may not be worth risking one’s social and professional reputation on the company’s word.